My 2012 in Review

Posted: January 1, 2013 in junior high ministry, middle school ministry

New YearsIt’s officially 2013. This past year flew by so quickly. I sit here in my new reclining chair overwhelmed by the amount of change and blessings that my wife and I have experienced. I find that in order to be truly thankful in my life, I need to write it down and document it. My blogs end up being an online journal of sorts that I, for some odd reason, give public access to. But I do love writing, so here is my 2012 in review:

  • In March, Nicole and I packed up all of our things and moved across the country to Lexington, KY, where I took a job as the Middle School Pastor at Southland Christian Church. We moved into a tiny, little apartment and started our new lives. While it was truly painful to leave Colorado and our family and friends, we know without a doubt that God called us here. 
  • In June, Nicole got her dream job as a social worker at an organization that helps those who are physically and mentally handicapped. It is an incredible feeling as a husband to watch my wife being able to live out her calling in such an awesome way.
  • In July, we succumbed to the cuteness of a puppy at a pet-adoption event and took home our little black lab/border collie mix, named Wrigley. (Yes, we are Cubs fans in everything). The early days and weeks were hard, but it’s funny how God can use even a dog to teach me and mold me in the areas of patience and dying to self.
  • In July, I also got the chance to take our middle schoolers to summer camp, where I had the privilege of baptizing two of our students. It was one of those moments where I really started to feel at home here where God had called us.
  • In August, I got the chance to implement the first big change in the middle school ministry, adding a second service on Sunday mornings. This allowed us to reach a larger amount of students on Sunday mornings, and, while numbers do not necessarily mean success (I hope you hear me on this one), it increased our average attendance by nearly 25%. Now we have the opportunity to steward our influence well as we disciple hundreds of middle schoolers.
  • In October, I had the opportunity to attend the Middle School Ministry Campference in Seymour, IN, with a bunch of like-minded people who also love middle schoolers. It was such an incredible event put on by the Youth Cartel that gave me the opportunity to meet so many others who are seeking the Kingdom of God, one middle school student at a time. I laughed a lot and came away with so many new ideas. (On the last night, there were about 30 of us who went to Buffalo Wild Wings to watch the last World Series game… Can you imagine that many middle school youth workers in one restaurant?… Controlled chaos.)
  • In November, Nicole and I celebrated our one-year wedding anniversary. God blessed me with one beautiful, perfect wife! Days after our anniversary we got to move into a new rental home, which was a very timely gift from God!
  • richmond road campusIn December, I spent a good amount of every work day preparing for the launch of Southland’s 3rd campus here in Lexington on Richmond Road. I will be overseeing the middle school ministry at that campus (in addition to the Harrodsburg Road campus) until we hire a Student Director. Launching a brand new ministry has been fun and overwhelming at the same time, but one thing I do know for sure: Jesus has big plans for the people who will be there. I’m so privileged to be a part of it.

There are so many other things that happened that deserve some recognition, but that would take a much longer post. Suffice it to say that I am excited to be following a big God who has greater plans and dreams for my life than I ever could have imagined. Through all my doubts and insecurities, Jesus has been so patient with me in 2012. I pray that God continues to do GREATER things (John 14:12) in 2013 in all of your lives as well!

Leave a Reply

