Simple Thoughts

Posted: October 14, 2012 in fun, junior high ministry, middle school ministry, soul care

Every once in a while I hear something that gets my brain buzzing about middle school ministry, and even more scarcely I actually have a unique idea of my own. Some of these may need full blog posts, but others just need a “simple thought.” Thus, here is the inaugural “Simple Thoughts” blog post.

  • Today we had an extended time of leader training for our volunteers in student ministries. For the last two hours Brooklyn Lindsey joined us and shared some of her own thoughts. We were definitely spoiled to have her at Southland. One of the things she said that stuck out to me was a good, simple reminder: Middle schoolers don’t need us to be like them; they want us to like them.  While it’s important to get excited for the things that are special to our students, we don’t have to pretend to be someone we’re not. I have never been (and will never be) a big video-game guy. If I try to carry a conversation about the newest video game, whoever I’m talking to will quickly realize I have no clue what I’m talking about. I simply need to be me but also validate the middle schooler’s experience and excitement.
  • We did the Interlude dance during leader training today… and it was amazing. Even though Brooklyn was introducing it to some of the crowd, I’ve made my leaders do it at our middle school services many, many times (side note: I really do mean it when I say “made.” For some reason, some were reluctant to dance!). I think they finally appreciate how much fun it is! It’s become our own little tradition. I’m wondering how valuable it is to have these traditions with our leader teams. As we create “backdoor community” with our volunteer teams, we have to play together and celebrate traditions like a family. (Also, if you haven’t introduced the Interlude dance to your middle school ministry, do it.)
  • I am finally taking some vacation time starting this Thursday. I am definitely ready for some rest. This has been one of the busiest ministry seasons since I started doing youth ministry, and I’m excited to sleep in and read a lot of books. At the end of my vacation I am going to the Middle School Ministry Campference in Indiana on October 26-28, and I could not be more pumped. I have nothing but good things to say about this event. If you are in middle school ministry, either get there this year or put it on your schedule for next year. Let me know if you’re interested in coming this year!
Comments
  1. What is the Interlude dance? Sorry to be clueless : )

Leave a Reply

